he 20th-Century Architecture of Frank Lloyd Wright World Heritage nomination book. Reused with modifications.
World Heritage inscription of “The 20th-Century Architecture of Frank Lloyd Wright”
7th July 2019, Baku, Azerbaijan

On 7th july of 2019, the World Heritage Committee, meeting in Baku, Azerbaijan, has officially inscribed The 20th-Century Architecture of Frank Lloyd Wright, which includes eight major works spanning 50 years of Wright’s career, on the UNESCO World Heritage List.

The sites in the group inscription span Wright’s influential career. The collection represents the first modern architecture designation from the United States to the World Heritage List. They include:

– Unity Temple, Oak Park, Chicago, IL, 1905-1908
– Frederick C. Robie House, Chicago, IL, 1909
– Taliesin, Spring Green, WI, 1911
– Hollyhock House, Los Angeles, CA, 1922
– Fallingwater, Bear Run, PA, 1935
– Herbert and Katherine Jacobs House, Madison, WI, 1937
– Taliesin West, Scottsdale, AZ, 1937
– Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, New York City, NY, 1959

“The Wright nomination has been in development for more than 15 years, a coordinated effort between the Frank Lloyd Wright Building Conservancy, each of the nominated sites and independent scholars, with a substantial financial commitment realized through subsidies and donations, countless hours donated by staff and volunteers, and the guidance and assistance of the National Park Service.” The Conservancy will coordinate the activities of the Frank Lloyd Wright World Heritage Council, chaired by Linda Waggoner, which was established to support the responsible conservation and promotion of the eight World Heritage sites.

“This recognition by UNESCO is a significant way for us to reconfirm how important Frank Lloyd Wright was to the development of modern architecture around the world,” says Barbara Gordon, executive director of the Frank Lloyd Wright Building Conservancy. “There are nearly 400 remaining structures designed by Wright. Our hope is that the inscription of these eight major works also brings awareness to the importance of preserving all of his buildings as a vital part of our artistic, cultural and architectural heritage. All communities where a Wright building stands should appreciate what they have and share in the responsibility to protect their local—and world—heritage.”

Docomomo International congratulates the Frank Lloyd Wright Building Conservancy and the National Park Service for the all the work done and for the recognition by UNESCO’s World Heritage Center. Docomomo hope that this recognition will be an opportunity to continually strengthen and enhance the work done in order to preserve this sites and to disseminate their significance among a broader audience.

For more information, please visit: website + website.