Close Readings: Alan Colquhoun 1921–2012. A Centenary Colloquium
Date and time: 25 June 2021, 6.00 12.00 US Pacific Time

Docomomo International is pleased to announce the event “Close Readings: Alan Colquhoun 1921–2012. A Centenary Colloquium” which will take place next Friday 25 June 2021, 6.00–12.00 US Pacific Time, 09.00–15.00 US Eastern Time, 14.00–20.00 British Summer Time, 15.00–21.0Central Europe Time.

In June 2021 it is celebrated the centenary of Alan Colquhoun (1921–2012), prominent British architect, critic and theoretician. The goal of this online colloquium is to consider the continuing significance of Colquhoun’s writings, and the ways in which they continue to provoke and inform contemporary research. To this end, several generations of scholars gather to discuss the relevance of these writings to the current tasks of the architectural historian. With Cesare Birignani, Charles L. Davis, Phillip Denny, Kenneth Frampton, Mari Hvattum, Ayala Levin, Nikos Magouliotis, Jana Ndiaye Berankova, Joan Ockman, Ioanna Piniara, Léa-Catherine Szacka, Anthony Vidler, Stanislaus von Moos, and others. Scientific Committee: Tom Avermaete (ETH Zurich), Adrian Forty (Emeritus Bartlett UCL), Kathleen James-Chakraborty (University College Dublin), and Patricia Morton (University of California, Riverside).

Colloquium jointly organized by Irina Davidovici (ETH Zurich) and Mary McLeod (GSAPP Columbia), in association with Ellis Woodman (The Architecture Foundation, London, UK).  The event will be hosted on the streaming platform of The Architecture Foundation, link: https://www.architecturefoundation.org.uk/alan-colquhoun-a-centenary-colloquium

For details and program, please visit the event website.